1. Home
  2. Child Labor

Child Labor Permit Requirements


An employer who has elected to hire a minor for employment is responsible the following: 

  • Complete the employer's information and employer representative's information sections of the work permit form.
  • Retain the original permit with copy of the proof of age.
  • Review the Iowa Child Labor Law sheet (which is provided on page 3 of the work permit form) and comply with all the duties and hours requirements.
  • Review the Iowa Child Labor Permit to ensure it is complete.
  • Indicate which proof of minor's age has been given and make a copy for your records.
  • Within 3 days of the minor starting work, submit a copy of the Iowa Child Labor Permit form to the Iowa Division of Labor – Child Labor. Do not send a copy of proof of age with the completed permit.
    • Email: An auto reply will be received by sender as acknowledgment.
    • Fax: 515-725-7957.  Keep the transmittal receipt as proof of submission.
    • Mail: Iowa Division of Labor - Child Labor, 150 Des Moines Street, Des Moines, IA  50309-1836.  You will receive an email confirming that we have received the permit.

Parents and Children

In order to ensure a 14 or 15 year old minor is properly set up for work, follow these steps:

  1. Wait until a job is offered.
  2. Print the Iowa Child Labor Permit.
  3. Complete both the sections for the minor and for the parent.
  4. Takes the work permit and proof of age to the employer.

Approved proof of age options include:

  • A driver's instruction permit.
  • A certified birth certificate.
  • A certified baptismal record showing date and place of birth and place of minor's baptism.
  • Federal identification such as a passport, visa, I-99 or "green card."
  • A physician's certification of minor’s age.

The following are not approved proof of age options:

  • A Social Security card.
  • A statement from a parent.
  • An I-9 form.