Safety & Health Compliance - Reviewing Paperwork in Hardhat


  1. Home

Safety & Health Compliance

Iowa OSHA protects employees at work by enforcing safety and health standards to prevent injuries and illnesses.  Prevention is not just good for workers and their families, it also helps reduce workers' compensation and related costs for employers.

Iowa OSHA works closely with Federal OSHA so Iowa's enforcement program is similar to other state programs.

Safety & Health Complaints

You (or your authorized representative) have the right to file a confidential safety and health complaint if you believe there is a serious hazard in your workplace or if you think your employer is not following OSHA standards. The complaint is considered “Formal” when it is submitted on an OSHA Complaint Form and is signed by at least one current employee or authorized employee representative. A signed formal complaint is more likely to result in an onsite inspection. Please be as thorough and specific as possible when completing the complaint form.

Accident/Incident Reporting

Employers must immediately report any work-related death within 8 hours. We encourage employers to do so by telephone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Within 24 hours after an in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees or an employee's amputation or an employee's loss of an eye, as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye to OSHA.

Guide to Iowa OSHA Citations

An Iowa OSHA Citation and Notification of Penalty (Citation) is a legal document notifying an employer of hazards alleged by Iowa OSHA, the penalty amount Iowa OSHA proposes, and the deadlines for abatement or correction of the hazards.

Common Questions (FAQ)

Answers to common questions and concerns related to OSHA Safety & Health Compliance.

Hours of Operation

8:00am to 4:30pm • Monday - Friday

Contact Information

Safety & Health Compliance
6200 Park Ave, Suite 100
Des Moines, IA 50321-1270